Adult, Books, Musings

A Myriad of Mini Cookbook Reiews

Pop Sugar Reading Challenge Update: 14/40
A Satirical Book

206960321I figured I would start with the highlight and work my way down.  This is the book I am referring to in reference to my Pop Sugar Reading Challenge.  This book was hilarious.  On top of being filled with some of the most delicious vegan food I have ever seen and want to make to put in myself.  Jesus Christ.  If you aren’t a fan of profanity then this probably isn’t for you but it felt like one of my friends was sitting me down and telling me what is what when it comes to food.  This had personality as well as good recipes, great photography and a lot of creativity.  Definitely the best of the bunch here and worth checking out whether you are vegan or not, because eating more vegetables will not hurt you.  I promise.

23492253The next book I was torn on.  I didn’t hate it, there were some recipes in here that honestly looked good and that I felt I could make and would enjoy, but I am not one to follow a strict menu.  This was set up in such a way that it seemed like a gimmicky give me your money so you can lose weight diet guide.  I don’t think that any of those really work, but if you believe in it, then more power to you.  So I was a bit put off by the presentation, but again there were recipes in here I flagged to try one day, so there is that.  I guess its up to you to pick this one up or not.

17167085As a graduate of Ithaca College I am well aware of the Moosewood Restaurant.  I only actually ate there once but it was mind blowing and when I saw that the library I work in has a cookbook of their most popular recipes I couldn’t help but check it out.  I’m so glad I did.  While not everything in here was for me, I felt like because the collected their most popular dishes there will be something in here for everyone.  The presentation was pretty straight forward but there was some really great photography and some really delicious sounding recipes.  I would say give this one a try if you are vegetarian/vegan or just need to incorporate more veggies into your life.

8857133I saved the worst for last… is that not how you are supposed to do it?  In any case, I was not a fan of this cookbook at all.  There wasn’t a single recipe that I was interested in cooking.  I don’t think it helps that this was published in the early 2000s.  It feels like the most stereotypical vegan cook book there is.  I didn’t feel like there was any creativity or innovation.  It was a bunch of boring raw and cooked veggie recipes that are either really obvious, or things I could have come up with on my own, I didn’t need the cookbook to tell me how to make it.  I don’t know.  I guess it is a good place to start if you don’t want to be adventurous in your cooking, but honestly there are a lot of better recipes and cookbooks out there.

I bet you noticed that there was a particular theme with my cook books.  I have recently become lactose intolerant, and by recently I mean I probably have been for a while and have just been in the delicious chowder and macaroni and cheese based denial.  I am not vegan, I am probably closer to vegetarian but I eat meat a couple times a week, mostly chicken, in any case.  I needed to find recipes that were built around non-dairy and lactose free recipes.  I knew vegan food could do that for me, and I have nothing against the lack of meat.  If you are open minded or actually strictly vegan, more power to you and see what you think of these recipes.

I will be back tomorrow with a tag video so let’s hope that turns out well (I haven’t edited it yet…)

2 thoughts on “A Myriad of Mini Cookbook Reiews”

Leave a Reply

