March Wrap Up

a.k.a The saddest month so far in terms of reading, but the happiest month so far in terms of being employed, so you give and you take.

28430424The first book I read this month was actually one I was super excited for.  I did a full review of this one because I requested it from the publisher in exchange for my review.  I think this is one of my favorite books I’ve read so far this year.  It isn’t a happy book and there are moments when you sit there going, how could this get worse, and then it does.  If you want to know my full thoughts on the way it was written and why I picked it up, definitely check out that post.

20170404The next book I read was actually the #imbibliomancy pick for this month.  My own pick if you didn’t know.  Station Eleven was pretty quick despite the fact that it is clearly literary fiction.  I think the consensus our book club got to was, “We completely understand why it was a nominee for several awards but didn’t win.”  There were so many things done well but it was just not perfect.  If you want to know what our few faults were you should definitely go watch that book club discussion.

28253202I then managed to snag a copy of the trade for one of the comics that I abandoned over the summer just to see how it turned out.  I think this was my first openly negative comic review, and even then I mentioned its strengths.  I think for me it all came down to the fact that I am not in love with superheroes any more.  I talk more about why exactly I didn’t enjoy this comic in the review I did so you should definitely check this one to know that I don’t love all comics.  Even though it seems like all of my comic reviews are gushing.
7937843

The next book I listened to on audio and I honestly regret that decision.  I did a Flicks episode on this one.  I said those dreaded words, “I honestly liked the film better than the book.”  Now before you write me off completely, I have a hard time with books written from a young child’s perspective and on top of that I had to spend hours listening to a woman speak as if she were a little boy, it just ended up grating on me.  On top of that I felt like I was spoiled for this one.

27753938Remember, when I said I don’t love all comics, well I did love this one.  I have been a fan of Remender’s stories as of late and this one was no exception.  I think the strength here is the world he creates.  The characters were a little cliche, but this was the first volume so it was introducing us to them and their dynamics.  I will be interested in seeing where this story goes from here.  I haven’t decided whether I will pick up the comics monthly from this point on or continue pulling the trades.  We shall see.  I did a review of this one as well so you are welcome to see my thoughts on it in detail.

20696032Alright folks, we have come to the very last book I finished this month.  There were others that I had read a fair amount of but hadn’t finished up to this point.  It is a bit of a weird one, not only because its non fiction but because its a cook book.  Now I generally get my recipes online.  I follow lots of food blogs and foodtubers, but I have recently been trying to avoid dairy because I think I have been developing an intolerance to lactose.  I can’t have anything very milk heavy without feeling sick and bloated for the rest of the day.  This cookbook is vegan and all of the recipes looked delicious so I brought it home with me from the library and pulled out some that I think will be great.  For instance, a summer corn chowder (one of my favorite foods of all time) with no milk.

See how sad this list is.  I am ashamed, but then again I have been trying to find my equilibrium this month.  I started a new job, full time, I still have my old job.  I have also not been cooking for my family which is a problem because nobody else cooks and I feel gross every time we get take out, which is always.  In any case, hopefully in April things are looking up.

Reading Challenges Update:

Goodreads Challenge: 31/50
RYODB Challenge: 6/50
Pop Sugar Reading Challenge: 14/40

Oh and by the way, Happy April Fools Day!

2 thoughts on “March Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

