Books, Comics, Musings

Deadpool Movie Review!

Wednesday is comic book day and I wanna talk about me new favorite comic book movie.

*WARNING THIS IS NOT YOUR NORMAL SUPER HERO MOVIE.  THIS MOVIE EARNED ITS R RATING.  THERE IS ULTRA-VIOLENCE, BOOBS, BUTTS, AND EVEN SOME DICK, PLUS WAY MORE THAN 1 FUCK!  DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT BRING YOUR CHILDREN TO THIS FILM.*

464-film-page-large
Look at this movie poster and tell me this a movie to bring your kids to -.-

Title: Deadpool
Writers: Rhett Reese, Paul Wernick
Director: Tim Miller
Actors: Ryan Reynolds, Ed Skrein, T.J. Miller
Length: 108 Minutes
Genre: Action, Adventure, Comedy
Rating: R (HARD R)

Now, I don’t think anyone can do a review of this movie better than CBG19 so if you haven’t seen her’s GO DO THE THING~

That being said I will throw my two cents in.

This is THE Deadpool movie.  None of this entertaining but not cannon with little nods to the cannon as they move along.  This movie lives and breathes Deadpool.  I don’t think they could have done a better job.  It is a masterpiece.  From the very minute the opening credits start you are in for a wild ride of humor, every kind of indecent activity imaginable, and maybe even some Ryan Reynolds dick.

This is the best Marvel movie to come out and I was not expecting it to come from Fox who are somewhat notorious for their bad X-men movies.  Although X-men First Class and those that have followed it are doing better at it.  They are definitely learning and improving as time goes on, and have shown that they are willing to even make fun of themselves in this film.

Now.

As we all know.  I am a giant nerd.  I have been a giant nerd for years.  One of the things I was a giant nerd about forever, was Deadpool.

I even have this hat which I have owned for years (and most people will likely think is a fake geek girl thing now because he’s so popular).

IMG_2136
It might be barely visible here, but trust me that is a Deadpool hat, back when we filmed the first episode of Imbibliomancy.

Deadpool while not a completely underground character has never really been prominent in any Marvel ventures in the greater public.  He made a brief corrupted appearance in X-Men Origins: Wolverine, but other than that he was relegated to Comicon, Tumblr, and his comics.

I am so ecstatic that this movie was able to blow away the record for gross income of an R rated movie even though I’m sure some of those sales are from unassuming parents with their young ones expecting a happy jaunt through super hero action adventures.  That is not what they got.  You should have done your research folks, and listened when the people at the ticket booth said the film was rated R.

Super heroes in the cinematic universe seem to be, as comics were originally, assumed for young boys.  Comics as time has gone on has become much more geared toward all ages.  There are comics for kids, and there are comics for adults.  So to, should there be movies, and now there are, and it is glorious.

This might be the first Blu-ray I buy for myself because hot damn was this film a masterpiece.

The in references to Deadpool in all forms, the mocking of the actors and creators.  The blatant Ferris Beuller’s Day Off reference.  Flawless.

This was less a review and more of a gush but god damn do I love this movie.  I love that he was finally done right.  I love that Ryan Reynolds got to reprise his role and do things fabulously.  I don’t think anyone else could have done it the way he did.  He rides the line of attractive, funny, and annoying that Deadpool does normally.  It was great.

Have I said it was great enough?

Yes.

Well then I better go.  That’s all I have for you guys today!  Hope you didn’t mind my fangirling.  The feels are strong with this one.

2 thoughts on “Deadpool Movie Review!”

Leave a Reply

