Adult, Books, Comics

Anita Blake Vampire Hunter: The First Death Review

Wednesday is comic book day and I am kind of cheating.  This is a comic book review, but it is functioning more as promotion for my book club. (*shit faced grin*)

On the 18th of August we will be meeting over the inter-webs to discuss Skin Trade by Laurell K. Hamilton which is number 17 in the novels.  Now, I realize that not everyone is like me and has read all 23? books. Has two of them in audio book.  Also has all of the graphic novel versions (i.e. the first three books in trades) as well as the book I’m going to review today, which is a pre-qual to the first book only ever released as a graphic novel.  I purposely chose a book later in the series because I felt it was a good representation of the series as a whole and to impart anyone who wishes with the knowledge of the previous sixteen books if they should choose to skip, I also made a video discussing the world, the characters, and the magic systems.  I am just that sweet.

Now that we have that shameless self promotion out of the way, I can get to the matter at hand.

I reread this graphic novel today as part of the #booktubeathon (if you are participating let me know how its going for you!) and I wanted to review it for you folks, again, for those aforementioned shameless self promotional reasons.


T
itle: The First Death
Writer: Laurell K. Hamilton & Jonathan Green
Illustrator: Wellington Alves
Page #: 128
Genre: Urban Fantasy, Mystery, Action

In my mind there will never be a BAD Anita Blake book.  No exception here. This graphic novel depicts the story that you gets bits and pieces of throughout the novels.  How Anita got the cross scar on her arm.  How she met Edward.  What Zebrowski was like when he first joined the force.  What Jean Claude was like when he didn’t really know Anita that well.  All of these things are pushed together into this really short story that I love.  Tidbits of this information is retold at various points throughout the books but it is nice to see it all together in one place.

It was a good mystery.  It was fun to read about my favorite characters when they were young.  I don’t know how this will be for folks who haven’t read the books.  I think that even just reading the other graphic novels they have released will help you appreciate this more, than you would on its own.  Even though this is fine on its own, it has more feeling in it if you already know and care about the characters. Even though chronologically this story comes before Guilty Pleasures I would read the latter first.

The art is amazing as always, the same team working on this as all the rest.  It is just another way for me to enjoy a series a that I love.  I actually think that Anita lends herself to graphic novels very well.  The mystery plot lines give a good over arching plot across trades with different elements focusing in each comic.  Introduction to the crime, investigations, interrogations, confrontations, resolutions.  It works.  Have I said that enough in this paragraph alone?

Like I said, I really love it.  I think you should pick up these graphic novels if you are too intimidated by the sheer scope of the novels.  It might pull you in.  They are all worth it.  I promise.

That’s it folks.

For Friday I will hopefully have our live stream on Angelfall by Susan Ee up for you guys on Friday but it has been stuck in processing hell for the past few days.  Talk to you soon!

I hope you have a good rest of the week and good luck to my fell #booktubeathon memebers

Mini booktubeathon update:

Books read: 3

  • 1 graphic novel
  • 2 YA novels

Books started: 2

  • 1 collection of poetry
  • 1 adult novel
Leave a Reply

