Books

My Cookbook Wishlist

On Monday I’m going to talk about the new thing I’m doing for my apartment mates which involves food.

Some of you may have noticed my tweets about the food blogs I follow and my wish to cook more.

I thought I would use my current state of GOSH I WANT TO COOK DELICIOUS FOOD! to make a book wishlist; more specifically a cookbook wishlist.  See what I did there? See? Wink wink nudge nudge, you get it.

1.Top with Cinnamon by Izy Hossack

The image is her own, and if you click on it you will be redirected to her food blog where you can find a bunch of recipes for free.  The crazy thing about Izy is that she is only 18 and has been doing the food blogging thing for years.  Most food bloggers are professional parents, food stylists, chefs, or just adults.  This is a teenager who is not only extremely talented in the cooking department, but doing what I wished I could do at that age.  I might start doing a cooking segment on here.  I don’t know. *flails dramatically*

I want the food, I love her blog, check her out if you have the time.

2. Thug Kitchen: eat like you give a f@ck! by Thug Kitchen

I might have to flag this book and blog for language, but you probably figured that out from the books title.  Personally I think it is a delightfully quirky way to talk about food.  Also all of the food looks delicious.  The photos are always crystal clear and with such bright colors that its art.  Honestly I think all food is art, but being someone who eats mostly brown foods, and isn’t particularly a fan of the fact that she eats mostly brown foods I am supremely jealous of these vibrant dishes.

The food looks amazing, the tone of the book and the blog are flawless, I want it.

3. Sorted for Beginners: Taking the Fuss out of Food by Sorted Food

This time rather than the book that corresponds with a blog I have a book that corresponds with a YouTube channel, or at the very least one of the books that Sorted Food have put out.  These guys make great videos that not only showcase delicious food but are entertaining to watch.  If you are a foodie like me, you will really enjoy that channel.  On top of that they are all British.  I’ve wanted their book for a while now.

 

Hilarious group of friends make delicious food that I want to make as well!

4. Canning for a New Generation: Bold, Fresh Flavors for the Modern Pantry by Liana Krissoff

I think this is the first book that isn’t directly associated with one of the blogs I’ve followed for years.  At least I don’t think its associated with a blog.  If I’m wrong then I’ve been missing out on a whole bunch of canned preserves in all their glory.  I have wanted to try making pickles and preserves for a while now, so this book and the next one are filled with things to put in jars and save for later.  Id much rather make my own jam than try a jelly out of a jar.  I think my toast will taste that much sweeter if I made it myself.

Stunning photography with a bunch of fabulous jars of preserved fruit and vegetables.  Gimme, gimme, gimme!

5. Preserving by the Pint: Quick Seasonal Canning for Small Spaces by Marisa Mclellan

Ah, back to the books from blogs.  Food in Jars is one of the first food blogs I ever followed.  I think my wish to preserve things was deep in my subconscious for years.  I think that this book of Marisa’s would be particularly helpful to me, seeing as I live in a small city, in an apartment.  I definitely don’t have a huge kitchen, although there are orchards and farms relatively closs, so the quantaty of produce is probably available to me.  Still.  This seems like a better book for handling.  I also love that not only does it list how to preserve these foods but recipes for how to use those preserves, and if you need more ideas than the blog is an even better resource.

Food in jars are just plain yummy.  I want them all.  Can I have them all?

What cookbooks do you guys have in your kitchen?  Or do you just use the internet?

Food has always been one of my great loves, that nobody else in my family seems to share.  It is quite unfortunate.  Hopefully I will find a boyfriend who let me make whatever I want and eat it without complaining.

Stay tuned for more food related discussions on Monday!  With the interim of our regularly scheduled Kpop Spam on Sunday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

