Musings

Sunday Spam: The I-Like-Khip-Hop Edition

You know what to do~ click the link. ~badoop~

Before I start I would like to say that I’m working extra hard on next week’s Sunday Spam because it is the tenth Sunday Spam playlist and I find that milestone is worth celebrating.  However, that means that my descriptions for this weeks Sunday Spam will be a little bit different.

Rather than discussing the individual groups and videos in this playlist since many of them have popped up before.  I want to talk about Khip-Hop as a genre in the K-Pop community.

Now there is Korean Hip-Hop and this is not what I’m talking about.  I’m talking about K-Pop songs that have taken Hip-Hop elements and incorporated them into their styling.  Perhaps at some point I will do a full on Korean Hip-Hop playlist, but today is not that day.

When Khip-Hop is first mentioned most people will think of groups like Block B, BTS, Topp Dogg.  These groups all make an appearance on this playlist and you will see why, but I also added some groups that are not necessarily considered a Khip-Hop group but have instead put out a specific single that is influenced in some way.

It seems like a prerequisite for an idol group to debut these days is to have at least one rapper and rap is heavily connected to Hip-Hop but even Pop songs in English seem to have a rap verse somewhere in there now a days.  The inclusion of a rap does not a Khip-Hop song make.

I looked to the tone of the song, the specific beats and chords used throughout it, for some I even looked at how the music video was styled.  Khip-Hop songs have a specific flow, a kind of slow bouncing rhythm that they take from Hip-Hop but maintains the electronic synth back tracks and perhaps even the peppy vocals associated with K-Pop.

I picked out a few of my favorite tracks, some lean more toward traditional K-Pop and others are very clearly showing their Hip-Hop influences.

Here is a list of the tracks and the artist names:

1. M.I.B. – 치사BOUNCE
2. Wonder Girls – Like This
3. G-Dragon – 미치GO
4. Lip Service – 냠냠냠 Yum Yum Yum
5. Block B – Nillili Mambo
6. G.I. – Gi Yeuk
7. SPEED – Zombie Party!
8. CL – 나쁜 기집애
9. BTS – Boys in Luv
10. Got7 – A

Which was your favorite?  I’d love it if you let me know in the comments below?  Or maybe send me a tweet?

I spent like four hours yesterday going through my tumblr and remaking it.  (There was a good six month period where I refused to tag anything … and even longer where tags for specific idols were not consistent)  If you want to see some gifs of Korean idols either looking breathtakingly attractive or acting like idiots, feel free to check it out!

I’ll be back tomorrow … don’t miss me too much.

Leave a Reply

