Adult, Books

Twisted Neck Relief Book Haul (Plus some from March)

I got a bunch of books recently, used book stores are my friend, seriously.  Though I’m sure they are the Bane of my Bank Accounts Existence.

afterlight

 

Eight whole new books.  Woah!

Let’s go from oldest to newest.

I purchased two books before coming back to school, one book I had ordered a while ago and finally came in and the rest are from last weekend with my Mom.

Before coming to school I got:

.

.

I bought Kafka on the Shore because I have recently been attempting to read more literary fiction and more texts written somewhere other than England or the United States.  This covers both of those bases.  I’m currently a quarter of the way through this and am really enjoying the story.  There should be a review up eventually.

.

.

.

.

.

.

For those same reasons I also bought Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro.

.

.

.

.

.

.

This one is in preparation for Bibliomancy for Beginners over the summer.  I am going to be mixing this science fiction beauty into the mix.  Look forward to it!  I am rather fond of the towers of mobile homes on the cover of this edition.

.

.

.

.

.

.

My Mom bought me two books at Barnes and Noble.  The first being The Art of Fielding because Goodreads keeps telling me I will love it.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The other being Battle Royal.  Although Goodreads did not have an image for the cover I have I will post a picture with it below.  I have been wanted to read this since watch Dagan Ronpa.  If you haven’t seen that anime yet, or played the game since it just came out in English this year you should give it a try.

.

.

.

 

.

.

I watched the movie for Running with Scissors a few years ago and the events that take place in this novel occur in the town next to the one I grew up in.  I think I will really enjoy this one, even if it is not something I would normally pick up.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Purchased secondhand for cheap to add to my list of literary fiction on my shelves.  It is a tiny book so perhaps I will read it this summer when I have more time!

.

.

.

.

.

.

The same as the last.  I think this book was used for a class at Cornell because the store had a pile of these they were trying to get rid of.  The class must not have liked it very much but it is on my list of 900 books to read in my lifetime.  Now I have it and in almost new condition, for $5.  Woo!

.

.

.

Here are my favorite covers from this new selection:

PicShells

 

Isn’t that cover for Battle Royal awesome.  I love it.  Though it is a beast of a book in this edition.  Still looking forward to it.

Have you guys read any of these?  Did you like them?  Let me know in the comments!  If there is something you want me to read soon you can always suggest that as well. 😉

I’ll talk to you guys next week, have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

