Musings

Monday Musing: The Meaningful Film Edition

I have recently been thinking about a few things.  Most of them pertaining to change.  I realized not too long ago that most of the books I read in school for classes were written by American or English authors.  I could only think of two that were written in another country, one being Canadian which I don’t think counts, and the other being Mexican, but it was written by a Mexican-American and although originally written in Spanish, I still am unsure if it counts.

Now I have read more translations on my own, but in school there is a huge emphasis on works written in the U.K. and America though there are more than two countries with gifted writers.  I realize that texts lose something when they are translated, but unless I plan on learning every language I make due with what I can read.  I wanted to take the Latin American Literature class in Spanish at my school, but I don’t have time for it.

Anyway, that is a minor thing.  The thing I really wanted to talk about was my tendency to re-watch a select few movies.  I have never really been a fan of rereading books, however there are a handful of movies I can watch over and over again and not get bored.

One of those films being The Devil Wears Prada, also Julie and Julia, and finally Stranger than Fiction.  There are other films that I go back to when I am in a certain mood, those are generally older films like Driving Miss Daisy, Fried Green Tomatoes, and the Back to the Future Trilogy.

However the first three I could watch almost everyday and probably not get bored.  There is something about those stories that I particularly identify with.  I’m not sure what it is exactly in all of them.  Some I respect for the lines of dialogue, others I appreciate the cinematography, perhaps it is just the way the story is woven together.  Whatever it is I feel those films hit me deeper than the rest do.

Though I have always been a reader I have never had the same experience with a book.  I have never been able to finish a book and pick it right back up again.  I always look to something else.  Even books that I absolutely loved, or that changed the way I looked at them.  I am worried that the experience would change if I were to read them again.

Since I have been going back and reading some of my favourite childhood books I find that this is in a way true.  I am a different person than I was at age 8 and therefore pick up on different things and perhaps have a better understanding of the works as a whole.  It makes the experience different, and while it doesn’t ruin the way I felt about them when I first read them, it does change the way I look at the series now.  This can be for the better, but sooner or later I fear it will be worse.

How do you feel about re-watching films, do you have favourites that you just can’t get enough of?  How about with books?  I’d love to know what you think.  Hopefully I will have a book review and discussion video for you guys on Wednesday.  We shall see.

P.S. Song of the week 좀비파티 (Zombie Party) by Speed.

1 thought on “Monday Musing: The Meaningful Film Edition”

  1. I’m not a huge fan of re-reading books either, but I do agree that there are movies I can watch again and again. For me those tend to be Studio Ghibli movies- Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke, Porco Rosso, just to name a few. I’ve been watching them since I was a little kid, but I’m able to keep watching them because on top of the beautiful animation and touching stories, there are some serious themes and ideas that I can keep coming back to as I age with new perspective (ex: feminism, conservation, self-image). If you haven’t watched them I would definitely recommend them! I feel like they’re too easily written off as children’s films when they have the same amount, if not more, value for adults. Great post!

Leave a Reply

