Skin Trade by Laurell K Hamilton: Audiobook Review

On my trips home and back again for spring break I had the pleasure of listening to the audiobook for Skin Trade.  I had already read Skin Trade, and since it is one of the novels that involves Olaf “Otto” Jeffries is subsequently one of my favorites.  It might be weird that he is my favorite character but I find him in credibly interesting.

 

Title: Skin Trade
Author: Laurell K Hamilton
Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group
Page #: 486 or 18.5 hours
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Paranormal Mystery/Paranormal Suspense Thriller

This book is very much rated M for mature.  There are sexy times.  

Now that I have posted a disclaimer for the sex scenes I might as well start off by saying that having sex scenes read aloud to me was extremely uncomfortable.  Partially because I don’t think I could read them aloud with a straight face, but partially because reading the descriptions used for sex is not the same as listening to them spoken aloud.  That isn’t to say that the voice actress did a poor job of reading it, because I think she delivered it perfectly.  It was all in the content.

The voice actress was actually a pretty good match to the voice that I gave Anita in my head.  However, she did all of the voices in the novel and some of the other voices she did were not even close to what I had imagined which was slightly jarring.  There are a lot more male characters in this book than female and while it is narrated by a female, she was only able to create so many male voices and they could blur together.  I also found that all of the french characters had the exact same voice.  Though I am really nitpicking at this point.

The Anita Blake books are the only books from my phase of Paranormal Romance that I actively still keep up with.  I will, on occasion look to see if a new Kresley Cole book has been released, but I follow Laurell K Hamilton on Facebook and Twitter and stay up to date on the Anita Blake series.  I read the newest book in less than three days of its release despite the fact that it was over 800 pages.

Within the series itself I prefer the books that are closer to detective novels.  I like hearing about some preternatural crime and following Anita and her partners around as they try and figure out what is going on.  Skin Trade is one of these and it is one of my favorite.  (Like I said earlier I particularly enjoy any of the books that have Olaf in them but also because he is always linked with a good murder mystery)

Some people prefer the more romance and relationship heavy books, other people like the world building books that focus on vampire politics.  I prefer the more action oriented novels.  However I like them all, and that is saying something since there are over 20 of them at this point.

This series kickstarted the whole Paranormal Romance Genre, because before Anita Blake there was Bram Stoker and Anne Rice, and that was about it.

If you haven’t read them yet, I would give them a try but I would also say that they get better as they go on, and the last handful of books have been a return to the murder mystery plot progression which have made me very happy.  Across the series you can definitely see her grow as an author and she is able to blend all of the elements of her story more efficiently.

I would also advocate for her second series (Merry Gentry Novels) which has a new addition coming out this summer!

Alright, I think that is everything I have to say today.  I have homework to do.  Can we go back to Spring Break please?  I am so ready to be done with school.  No worries, I’m sure it will fly by.

2 thoughts on “Skin Trade by Laurell K Hamilton: Audiobook Review

  1. I’m with you, I love her books for the supernatural crime part. I loved the first five books the most when she was all about Anita raising the dead, solving crimes, and kicking ass. I have kept up with the novels, but I’ve become more and more disappointed as her plots have become simpler and her sex scenes have become longer. I mean, it’s gets to a ridiculous point. I cling to the hope that suddenly she’ll return to what was good about her books but sex sells. *shrugs* Oh and I’m with you, Otto is so interesting/terrifying.

    1. Those are my feelings exactly. The last three were definitely heading back that way. I’m interested to see how she deals with Olaf since his latest installment made things interesting (super vague sentence is vague).

Leave a Reply

