Adult, Books, YA (Young Adult)

January Wrap Up and February TBR

This is weird, but it is a thing and it is happening.  Deal with it.

To start off let’s look at the books I read this month in abbreviated form:

.

The first book I read was the Invention of Hugo Cabret and I wrote a review that you can read here.  I gave this book four out of five stars.

.

.

The next book that I read was John Dies at the End which I thoroughly enjoyed.  I gave it four out of five stars mostly because it had approximately three more fart jokes than I can stand in one novel.

.

.

I read the entire Series of Unfortunate events this month with the Bibliomancers.  If you want to know what I thought about the book check out my wrap up which has links to each individual post where you can watch our discussion of the books in depth.

.

.

I then read Everybody sees the Ants by A.S. King, another book that I enjoyed more than I perhaps thought I would.  I quite liked the magical realism it contained.  I gave this book five out of five stars and reviewed it for you here.

.

.

.

I rounded off the month with a bit of a disappointment with Phoenix, I only gave it two stars on goodreads.  If you want to know why I wasn’t thrilled with it you can see my review here.

.

I have been back at school for two weeks and haven’t had a lot of time for reading, however I did pick up some new books to read to appease myself since I fear that this semester will be my busiest so far and books make everything better.

While I’ve been here I have managed to read 155 pages of American Gods by Neil Gaiman and that will be the first book I read next month.

If I finish it relatively early on my next endeavor will either be:

.

.

Looking for Me by Beth Hoffman …

.

.

 

.

.

.

The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling …

.

.

 

 

 

.

.

.

or The Silver Linings Playbook by Mathew Quick.

.

.

.

If you have read any of these books and want to tell me what you thought of them feel free to leave a comment below, and if you have a suggestion for which book I should read after I finish American Gods I would love to hear your opinion.

The return to school also means the return to reading for my English classes and I have one class on the Classic Hard Boiled American Detective novel so you might be hearing my thoughts on some of those in the coming weeks as well as the books I read on my own.

I will talk to you guys again in February, I hope you had a spectacular January and that the Pied Piper is still calling to you.

 

Leave a Reply

