Books, YA (Young Adult)

The Thirteen Days of Misfortune Wrap Up (Bibliomancy for Beginners)

I felt that I should be nice to those of you who don’t want to sit through thirteen 45+ minute videos to hear my ratings of each of the books in A Series of Unfortunate Events and what it was like for me to reread a series I read as a child and cherished.  It was definitely helpful in the formation of my adult psyche in some way, though I am not quite sure in what way.

I would like to note that whereas the images on my blog when clicked will usually lead you to the goodreads page for that book, in this post they will lead you to the post for that specific book which includes our discussion video if you are interested in hearing more about one in particular.

.

.

.

I gave the beginning of this series three out of five stars.  It is a strong beginning, and I really enjoyed it at eight but it is one of the simplest in the series and one of my least favorites out of all of them.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I gave this book four out of five stars, I enjoyed it more and it was more exciting in general.  Uncle Monty is one of my favorite characters in the entire series, but mostly because in my head he always has the same voice as the King of Candyland, goofy and silly.  Can you blame me really with that cover illustration?

.

.

.

.

.

This book revieved three out of five stars if only because I cared more about Aunt Josephine in the movie version of the first three books than I did in the book.  She seemed more fulfilled in the movie and the movie wasn’t very good to be honest, except perhaps in the cast and art direction, the script was rather bad.

.

.

.

.

.

I gave this book two out of five stars.  If there is any book in this series that is extremely disappointing it would be this one.  It isn’t even disappointing really, it is just a nonentity and that is what disappoints me.  There is nothing that really furthers the plot of the story in this novel and at this point the books begin to feel formulaic.

.

.

.

.

.

Finally, some plot.  V.F.D. makes its first appearance as do the Quagmire Triplets and for those reasons I gave this book four out of five stars.  We start to break out of the norm and Olaf’s scheme in this novel is fairly smart.  It isn’t just, murder the gaurdian and steal the kids.  Character development.

.

.

.

.

.

I’m not sure what about this novel I didn’t like as much as the last one, perhaps there were fewer references to literature that I understood and reflected well in the novel or perhaps it was the fact that there were a few plot holes regarding the amount of time it takes one to climb up and down an elevator shaft.  I gave this book three out of five stars.

.

.

.

.

.

More plot!  Also my favorite character in the entire series makes an appearance, that would be our friendly handyman Hector with his self-sustaining hot air mobile home.  This is the first caretaker that shows character growth, doesn’t die, and isn’t terrible.  Woo! Four out of five stars.

.

.

.

.

.

Not my favorite though the Bibliomancers were divided on this one, I personally gave it four stars though because while it wasn’t my favorite in the series it still had a lot of redeemable features.

.

.

.

.

.

While not much happened plot wise here I rather enjoyed my analysis of the “freaks” as celebrities in our society.  I thought it was pretty good.  However, this was a novel that most of us were dragging our feet a little on this one.  I still gave it four out of five stars.  V.F.D. guys, V.F.D.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The third and perhaps the most charismatic of the quagmire triplets shows up in this novel and that just about makes it one of the best in series.  Four out of five stars for commonplace books and literary referances.  A+ references.

.

.

.

.

.

Plot twists, I liked it, more plot twists, Aye!  I gave this book four out of five stars.  I for the first time was actually worried for the lives of the Baudelaires.  Also the queequeg is a strange and majestic beast that one should strive to own at some point in their life.

.

.

.

.

.

.

All of the good guys and all of the bad guys have returned to duke it out over the fates of the Baudelaire orphans.  I always wondered why this wasn’t the last book in the series.  It would make a better end, but then Snicket’s theme of thirteens wouldn’t have worked as well.  Five out of five stars for you.

.

.

.

.

.

This book is very random, very weird.  It is an interesting ride but a weird end to the series.  Confusing, entertaining, completely unsatisfying in the department of answers to the thousands of questions asked throughout the series.  I gave The End five out of five stars.  It was weird but it was good.

.

.

.

Now that this whole thing is over, I’m sure you will all be excited to stop hearing about this series.  I know I was definitely getting tired of reading them.  I am not one to read a whole series all in a row without interruptions.  I need variety in my reading otherwise I get bored with reading in general.

I have a musing discussion prompt for you guys for tomorrow.  I hope you had a good weekend and are looking forward to a good semester or spring like I am.

See you soon, the Pied Piper is calling me.

2 thoughts on “The Thirteen Days of Misfortune Wrap Up (Bibliomancy for Beginners)”

Leave a Reply

