Adult, Books, YA (Young Adult)

Christmas Book Haul

I said that my next post would be a Haul to show you guys what books I received for Christmas.  I didn’t want to do this until I had used my Barnes and Noble Gift cards to get the last two expensive books on my list.  I have also picked up a few books that I ordered for myself on Cyber Monday so I will show you guys those as well.  As always if a book looks or sounds interesting you can click on its cover to be directed to its Goodreads page and learn more about it.

Let’s start with the Cyber Monday buys:

.

.

Black City by Elizabeth Richards which I read early this year and did a guest review at My Life is a Notebook which you can see here.  I gave this book four out of five stars on goodreads.  It is a fairly straight forward young adult dystopian book with darklings (vampires) and lupines (werewolves).  It was an easy read something I read in about a day but it wasn’t terribly unique in its plot or themes so be aware of that.  I wanted my own copy because of that cover and …

.

.

.

.

.

because I bought myself the second novel, Phoenix by Elizabeth Richards.  I am currently reading this and I have to say that I am not really liking it as much.  It will probably get three out of five stars but that depends on how I feel about the ending which I have not read yet.  I am a little upset at it right now because I can feel the beginnings of a love triangle being set up and that frustrates the hell out of me.

.

.

.

Onto the Christmas books:

.

.

John Dies at the End by David Wong.  I have the movie tie-in cover as seen to the left which I am actually more a fan of than the original cover, partly because graphically it appeals to me more than a pair of hands with words written on them and also because you just get to see Pail Giamatti looking grumpy.  Win win.  I think the best way I can convince you to read this is to talk about how the back cover says: “STOP: You should not have touched this book with your bare hands.  No, don’t put it down.  IT’s too late.  They’re watching you.  Also the book revolves around a man named David Wong, and is written by David Won.  Interesting right?

.

.

.

.

Next I received Everybody Sees the Ants by A.S. King.  This is a book that I have heard great things about and am looking forward to reading.  It is a young adult contempory novel about a boy who deals with the fact that he is bullied constantly by escaping into a made up world in his dreams where he can be the Hero.

.

.

.

.

.

Next is Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones.  Yes, it is the book that the Studio Ghibli film is based on.  Taylor (@ETGreenwood on twitter) read it as a child and I felt left out.  Apparently it is the first in a series so I might enjoy reading these.  This is a middlegrade fantasy novel in which a young woman named Sophie is turned into an olg hag by a witch and goes off to seek her fortune.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I reived The End Games by T. Michael Martin as well.  This is a young adult zombie book.  Should be interesting and I watch his videos on youtube.  He is a very interesting and intelligent man and I look forward to reading the story that he wrote as well.

.

.

.

.

.

This is Looking for Me by Beth Hoffman.  I read Beth Hoffman’s debut novel Saving Ceecee Honeycutt and loved the hell out of it.  When I heard her second novel had been published I couldn’t help but search it out.  While Saving Ceecee Honeycutt was a historical fiction piece I believe this one is a contemporary novel.  Both are written about women in the South.  I happen to be a huge fan of historical novels set in the South and I hope that this one is just as enjoyable.

.

.

.

.

.

I also received Wanderlove by Kristen Hubbard.  This is a contemporary young adult novel about a girl who, in order to find out more about herself, goes on a guided tour through South America.  This is something I wish I could do, I want to travel more and visit many different countries.  While I can’t right now I think I will enjoy doing it vicariously through Bria in this novel.  It became quite popular on booktube this summer so I think I will enjoy it as well.

.

.

Then using the giftcards I received from family members I bought two books that I have been eyeing for a long time but were incredibly expensive and couldn’t see myself buying on my own otherwise.

.

.

I bought this gorgeous copy of The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick.  I watched the movie with Taylor this semester and it was so cute and heart warming that I wanted to read the book.  While usually I read a book before even considering watching the movie, I didn’t know if I wanted to read such a long middle grade book.  The story was good enough and I think I will enjoy going more in depth into the story and the characters.

.

.

.

.

.

Finally I also got S by J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst.  This is a post modernist text meant to look like a library book where two people share a conversation about the text and their lives in the margins.  It comes sealed in plastic because there are also newspaper clippings and photos and postcards between the pages that help further the story.  It was such an interesting idea that I had to get it and with my giftcards the $35 sales ticket didn’t frighten me as much.

.

.

I hope you all had an eventful holiday season and made good memories with friends and families.  I know I definitely had a good time.  I also recieved a new webcam for Christmas so my end of Bibliomancy for Beginners will be stunning in high definition.  I also am thinking of doing more video posts in the new year to help suppliment the use of this lovely gift from my stepfather.

I will be back soon with a review most likely.  I think we should break up the posts with lists of books with some actual reviews don’t you think.  I just finished a book and should be done with the few I’ve started while I got home.

Remember, the Bibliomancy for Beginners team will be back in the new year and will be spending two weeks reading The Series of Unfortunate Events.  You are welcome to join in and watch our video broadcast live to join in on the conversation.  I will be posting the link to watch the video over my twitter (@piedpipercalls on twitter) and you are welcome to check out any of the other members as well.

Have a good day and I will talk to you guys soon, for now the Pied Piper is calling to me, at the moment it is my Korean notes.  Have I mentioned that I am attempting to teach myself Korean, because I’m attempting to teach myself Korean.  Perhaps I will blog about that soon, keep an eye out for it.

Leave a Reply

