Adult, Books, YA (Young Adult)

October Wrap Up

I will start off by saying that midterms were hell for me.  I was stressed at the beginning of October and things fell apart for me for a while.  I took a much needed break and read my fill and did my work.  I’m still not 100% and I am looking forward to the break that I have coming up in a few weeks.  I really need it.  The end of the semester is looming as well and while that means that my finals, essays, and projects need to come to fruition it also means a well deserved break.

Despite, or maybe due to the fact that I was such a mess this month I had a relatively good reading month.  I would also like to note that this weekend I completed my reading challenge for this year which was to read 50 books.  I won’t tell you what they all were yet, in January I will post a year in review and let you know what I thought of all the books I read.  I will probable do a Top 10 of 2013 towards the end of December as well.  Things to look forward to.

As far as this month goes this is what I read:

.

.

The Stranger by Albert Camus.  I have a review of this novel here.

.

.

.

.

Next was This Song Will Save Your LIfe by Leila Sales.  I have a review up of this book here.

.

.

.

I then read A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, Illustrated by Siobahn Dowd.  This was definitely a favorite of mine and I have a review of it up here here.

.

.

.

I read Benito Cereno by Herman Melville (Yes, the guy who wrote Moby Dick) for my African American Literature class on racial passing.  It is not nearly as long as Moby Dick but every bit as dense and it really needs two reads to gain the fully understand what is happening.  It is perhaps one the most interesting looks at what racial passing means.

.

.

.

I’m positive that many of you have heard of this one.  I had it on my bookcase for more than a year before finally getting to it realizing that the third and final installment of the trilogy would be coming out the next week.  I really enjoyed this book but I always enjoy a good training novel.  It is one of the stand out dystopian novels in the ya genre so check out Divergent by Veronica Roth if you haven’t yet.

.

.

The next book I read for my African American Lit class was Black Like Me by John Howard Griffin.  I would consider this an interesting historical anthropology text more so than a novel.  It chronicles the events that happen to a man who decides to change his skin tone to that of a Black person from White and travel around the American South in late 1950s.  I know shocking.  I didn’t like it very much but I felt that pretending to be black when you aren’t is a terrible way to do anthropology.  Be honest about what you are doing.  I guess it is a way to get an authentic experience.  It’s definitely weird.  Look into it if you want to see what its like to be a white man masquerading as a black man in the segregated American South.  It is definitely a unique perspective and nonfiction.

.

.

This is Insurgent by Veronica Roth, the second in the Divergent trilogy.  I didn’t like this book as much as the first book but it most likely has to do with how the amount of world building in this novel plummets dramatically from the last novel.  In order to avoid spoilers I will not mention the other factor that may have added to my not liking it as much.  I think that I will attempt to do a discussion post on the whole series soon where I will give all of my spoiler filled feelings.  I still liked this novel very much and recommend the whole series.

.

.

You guessed it, I also read the third and final installment in the Divergent trilogy: Allegiant by Veronica Roth.  I liked this markedly more than the second novel because we get loads more world building that help explain the previous two novels.  I know that people have fallen on either side of the fence on whether they like this novel or not and I will say that I really loved it.  I will also say that the ending, though perhaps difficult for some people, was the correct ending.  It was the true ending and the one the book needed even if it wasn’t what everyone wanted.  I loved this ending and usually the ends of trilogies and series disappoints me.  Not the case here.  I really enjoyed it.

.

That’s what I read last month and I already have another novel and play under my belt for November.  I hope you are all having a great fall.  It is cold here in Ithaca.  It hasn’t snowed yet but I can feel it coming on the horizon.  I will try and post at least once a week this month but I can’t guarantee anything especially since I am also attempting to do NaNoWriMo.  We shall see.  I have all of the things to do.

New Feature!  If you click on the pictures of the books it should bring you to their Goodreads page where you can read a summary of the novel.

I have more work to do, good afternoon, good evening and good night; as always The Pied Piper is calling me away.

Leave a Reply

