Musings

In Preparation for that beast we call NANOWRIMO

National Novel Writing Month, coming at the time when a college student is perhaps the busiest.

It is the end of September which means there is about a month before I have to switch from writing almost exclusively roleplaying campaigns and essays to writing a novel.  Tricky business for sure.  I have had an idea in my head for a while, ever since I watched the first season of American Horror Story.

I haven’t had the time to read lately so I have been trying to put my spare time effort into thinking about what this story is going to be and who exactly is going to be living it.

I have to say, that it is a little bit difficult.

Last year I worked off of a short story I had written previously so I had a world and characters made up.

This year I am going off of one scene I have in my head that doesn’t even have solid tangible characters.  The scene is played out by gray mysterious forms.

While I am not one of the people who plans out every aspect of my novel, I do think that characters and some idea of a plot arc are both key elements to have before you start writing.  I might not know how the book will end but I at least need to know what the conflict is.

It is crazy.

Even this blog post is disjointed.  I need to get my thoughts in order because its affecting the rest of my world.

I have homework to do … and some thinking to do, even if it is a dangerous pass time.

I hope you guys are having a great week and I’ll talk to you soon.

As always, The Pied Piper is calling me.

 

Leave a Reply

