Adult, Bibliomancy For Beginners, Books, YA (Young Adult)

Summer Wrap Up

According to Goodreads I have read 18 books this summer.  While that may seem like not very many to most of you, it is a fair amount for me.  Especially since I haven’t finished a book in about a month that I wasn’t forcing my way through.  Damn my wayward and incorrigible moods when it comes to reading.  If you want to learn more about any particular book clicking the image will send you to the goodreads page for that book. Here we go in chronological order:

 

 

The first book I read this summer was the first Bibliomancy for Beginners book, The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly.  You can read my review and watch our book discussion here.  I gave this book four stars.

 

 

 

 

The next book I read was on by an author who had visited my college for a writers festival, Safe as Houses by Marie-Helene Bertino.  It is a collection of short stories all discussing houses as safe havens for various reasons.  I gave this book four stars.

 

 

 

 

This was soon followed by The Innocent Mage by Karen Miller, the second Bibliomancy for Beginners book and the largest book I read this summer.  You can read my review of it and watch our book discussion here.  I gave this book three stars.

 

 

 

 

Next, another Bibliomancy for Beginners novel, City of a Thousand Dolls by Miriam Forster.  This was Gretchen’s first pick.  You can read my review of the book and watch our book discussion here.  I gave this book two stars.

 

 

 

 

Next I read Taylor’s first Bibliomancy for Beginners choice by one of his favorite authors, Magic for Beginners by Kelly Link.  You can read my review of this book and watch our book discussion here.  I gave this book four stars.

 

 

 

 

Starting out the second round of Bibliomancy for Beginners choice, I read Tree of Codes by Jonathan Safran Foer twice in one week.  You can read my review and watch our book discussion  here.  I gave this book four stars.

 

 

In that same week I read Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by the same author.  A story of a nine year old boy searching for the answers to questions he had after his father’s death on 9/11.  I gave this book five stars.

 

 

 

 

My next book was a quick read by one of my favorite childhood authors.  The Light is the first in The Morpheus Road Trilogy, a young adult/middlegrade novel of death and the supernatural by D.J. MacHale.  I gave this book four stars.

 

 

 

This was followed by Rachel’s second choice, Wards of Faerie by Terry Brooks.  You can read my review as well as watch our book discussion here.  I gave this book two stars.

 

 

 

 

Another Bibliomancy for Beginners book, Gretchen’s choice this time, Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas.  Read my review and watch our book discussion here.  I gave this book four stars.

 

 

 

The only new release I read this summer, Laurell K. Hamilton’s Affliction.  A post about my Paranormal Romance phase and why it remains one of my guilty pleasure genres.  There’s a pun there because the first Anita Blake book was titled Guilt Pleasure.  I gave this book four stars.

 

 

 

 

A book that I didn’t realize I liked until the last section that barely had anything to do with the rest of the novel and Taylor’s second choice for book club, The Teleportation Accident by Ned Beauman.  Read my review and watch our book discussion here.  I gave this book four stars.

 

 

 

A book I read after watching the movie, bad form I know but it was worth it.  This is one I wish I had read first though because I feel it would have been more potent.  My third book club choice, The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides was great.  Read my book review and watch our book discussion here.  I gave this book five stars.

 

 

 

 

Another book I read after seeing the movie, or rather because the movie is one of my favorites is Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg.  A brilliant story, I love the book just as much as the movie.  Both are beautiful piece of art.  I gave this book five stars.

 

 

 

A quick novella really that I reread to try and prolong my oncoming reading slump (it didn’t really work) Warlord Wants Forever by Kresley Cole is the into to her Immortals After Dark series.  It might be short but it is still one of my favorites in this group.  I happen to enjoy all of the Wroth brother’s books though.  I gave this book five stars.

 

 

The book with the longest title by far was Gretchen’s third book club choice, The Girl who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente.  I rather enjoyed this one and you can read my review and watch our book discussion here.  I gave this book four stars.

 

 

We have reached the last stretch of this post with the penultimate book.  By another visiting author to my college Open City by Teju Cole was an interesting read.  I rather enjoyed the flow of this book which I wasn’t expecting.  It had interesting insights as well.  I gave this book three stars.

 

 

 

 

The last book was Taylor’s last book club choice, Possesssion by A. S. Byatt.  You can my review and watch our book discussion here.  I gave this book three stars.

 

 

An interesting bunch of books I have to say.  I think that this new format, although time consuming to set up, is more aesthetically appealing as well for lists.  I hope that you guys had a great summer reading list.  If you have read any of these books or want to read some let me know in the comments below.  I always like to compare bookshelves.

I’ll talk to you guys soon, but for now that Pied Piper is calling to me.

Leave a Reply

