Adult, Bibliomancy For Beginners, Books, YA (Young Adult)

Big Book Challenge Wrap Up

Now that summer has come to a close the Big Book Summer Challenge is wrapping up, and since school is starting for me I know for a fact I won’t be reading very many “big” books.  I might get through a few, we shall see.  The rules were only to try and read as many books over 400 pages as possible this summer so here we go.

 

 

The first book I read that was over 400 pages this summer was The Innocent Mage by Karen Miller.  This was a Bibliomancy for Beginners book and you can read both my review of the book and watch our book discussion of it here.  This book was 640 pages long.

 

 

 

Next was Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas.  Likewise this is also a Bibliomancy for Beginners book and you can read both my review of it and watch our discussion video of it here.  This book was 420 pages long.

 

 

After that I read the newly released 22nd book in the Anita Blake series, Affliction by Laurell K. Hamilton.  I have been following this series for the past four years even though this book was also the celebration of 20 years since Guilty Pleasures the first in the Anita Blake series was published.  This is one of my all time favorite Adult Paranormal Romance series and I am planning to create a post talking about my favorite paranormal romance books in the near future so look out for that. Affliction is 570 pages long.

 

The next big book I finished was Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg.  I was reading this for pleasure because “Fried Green Tomatoes” is one of my favorite movies of all time.  The book is, as is often the case, even better.  You get to see and hear so much more about characters that were considered unimportant to the plot in the movie.  It is still heartbreaking in the right moments but even more so in others.  Some of the characters meet some tragic ends.  All in all I loved it though and I would recommend it to anyone.  This book came in at 416 pages.

 

 

The last Big Book I read this was Possession by A. S. Byatt.  This was the last Bibliomancy for Beginners book of the summer as well and per usual you can read my review and watch the video here.  This book came in at 555 pages.

 

 

 

It would seem I read five big books this summer.  Three of which I had to read in a weeks time for my weekly meetings.  It just shows what you can do when you have all of that lovely summer free time.

TI read a lot more that weren’t quite so big this summer as well.  I will be posting a Summer Wrap Up post in the near future holding all of the books I read this summer.  I am also thinking of starting to do monthly wrap ups as I see fit in order to supplement the very noticeable lack of new Bibliomancy for Beginners posts.  Don’t worry folks the book club has not disbanded as the last episode would suggest, it has merely been placed on the back burner do to school.  Which is the appropriate thing to do.  We can’t all read as much when we have classes, homework, essays, and work to contend with.

I hope you are having a great September so far and I will be back to talk to you soon.  As for now, per usual, the Pied Piper is calling to me.

1 thought on “Big Book Challenge Wrap Up”

  1. Wow, you had a great Big Book summer! My son also read The Innocent Mage this summer and LOVED it – he wants to read the rest of the series. I read Fried Green Tomatoes many years ago and loved it – I need to re-read it.

    Thanks for participating in the Big Book Summer Challenge! I hope you’ll sign up again next summer – good luck in school!

    Sue

    Great Books for Kids and Teens

    Book By Book

Leave a Reply

