Adult, Bibliomancy For Beginners, Books

Bibliomancy For Beginners: Ep. 6 Wards of Faerie by Terry Brooks

I didn’t post this last week because I was on vacation and my internet sucked (which will be made apparent by the video if you choose to watch it) but I am posting it now and tomorrow I will post this weeks review but I will leave the link to this weeks video as well at the bottom of this post if you can’t wait one day.

Title: Wards of Faerie Author: Terry Brooks Publisher: Del Rey Genre: Adult High Fantasy Page #: 384

So for a story that isn’t YA there was a lot of frustrating romance in this book.  Right out of the gate we get instalove and spoiler alert there will be two, count them two, different love triangles.  The main plot of this book follows a small group of druids who are out to protect the land and the lands magic.  I wanted to call this book a prequel to the series because its basically just setting up what will happen later in the series.  That happens to be one of my pet peeves in book series.

I feel that each book should be self contained.  There needs to be a plot arch that occurs throughout the novel.  Yes, I understand this is a series and you have an end goal you want to happen by the end of the series but that doesn’t mean you ignore the fact that there needs to be an arc for this book as well.  People would argue that the ending is climactic but I would argue that it is like a minor battle at the beginning of a war.

I didn’t like this book at all if you can tell, it was just a meh book over all.  It was boring, the characters didn’t have much to them.  The few characters I liked didn’t show up very often.  There were several instances where I felt that things were being thrown in my face (which I have said before I find insulting).  For a name that even I, not the biggest fan of high fantasy, have heard of as being one of THE high fantasy writers, I was disappointed.

I am pretty sure that my club mates felt the same way but for a good portion of this video discussion I was having technical difficulties.  If you wanna watch us discuss our thoughts the video will be at the bottom of this post.

That was last week tomorrow will be this weeks book which was a YA fantasy book called Throne of Glass.  If you want to watch our discussion before my review post tomorrow check it out on my youtube page here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhCqMfwwvGs

I will talk to you guys tomorrow, for now the Pied Piper is calling me.

1 thought on “Bibliomancy For Beginners: Ep. 6 Wards of Faerie by Terry Brooks”

Leave a Reply

