Books

Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten Books I’ve Read This Year, So Far.

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish found here http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com/p/top-ten-tuesday-other-features.html

I had to go to my goodreads challenge in order to recall which books I’ve read this year, and which books I read last year.  I will post them in the order I read them and not in the order of which books I thought were better because many of the books I read belong in entirely different categories and for that reason cannot be compared … (I totally enjoyed this book about sexy vampires more than John Green’s powerhouse novel TFiOS pshaw) So the order in which I read them.

1. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins – Like many people who read both Lola’s and Anna’s (of Anna and the French Kiss fame) stories know that this book was not nearly as powerful as Perkin’s debut novel.  However this novel did have several elements that I really enjoyed: The main squeeze, Cricket, yum, gay dads, that mirrors my own life in a way, the juxtaposition of the dream guy and the guy we settle for because he wants us.  All of this was good.  I enjoyed it.

2.The Killing Joke by Alan Moore and Brian Bolland – This Batman graphic novel is from the point of view of one of Joker’s henchmen and gives and interesting view into the way it must feel to work for a mad man.  Although of course our narrator goes a little insane, we also get to see an interesting side of the Joker.  If you are a fan of the dark night, or the joker, then this is a great graphic novel to look into reading.

3. The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey – This was a great, quick YA horror book.  I really enjoyed the story because it was unique.  It used monsters that have shown up in various literary outlets, but aren’t exactly main stream.  It enlightened folks to the way that all fields of medical or scientific practice tends to estrange the scientists looking at what they love.  It had a heart achingly depressing narrator for a majority of the book.  The antagonist of the story was brilliant and it was heavily implied that he was Jack the Ripper toward the end there.  Not really a spoiler since it has nothing to do with the plot of the novel and was really only thrown in at the end … just something I found amusing.

4. Shadow’s Claim by Kresley Cole – Either the newest or one of the newest in her Immortals After Dark series which I have been following for a few years now.  It is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine and although the water down plot to all of the novels are the same, man wants woman, woman fights it, finds the guy hot in the end and gives in to have sex with him, you get the idea.  I really love the overarching plot of the oncoming immortal warrior war/apocalypse type thing.  Plus there have been a few diamonds in the rough that I have really loved in this series.

5. The Host by Stephanie Meyer – I know, I know Stephanie Meyer and the Twilight Fiasco.  I have to say that I really enjoyed this book and I am not that big of a science fiction fan.  The descriptions were great and I loved the stories that Wanderer would tell of the other planets, I was sad that they didn’t implement those into the movie though I understand why that was probably really difficult.  All of this being said, I also was frustrated all to hell by the love polygon but was ultimately pleased with its outcome.

6. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – I don’t need to talk about this one, you all know.  If you don’t know, go read the book for yourself.

7. Everyday by David Levithan – I have already spoken on this blog about how much I loved this book.  It had an interesting premise, beautiful execution, and a heartbreaking ending.  I wanted to scream, I wanted to cry.  It was all good.  All of it.  Go read it, it’s short.  I have an ARC copy of it that I will treasure forever.

8. Magic for Beginners by Kelly Link – This is the first and Only Bibliomancy for Beginners book I liked enough to put in this list.  It is a collection of quirky interesting short stories which are really interesting to read and look at but not all that deep.  You really don’t care about the stories, more about how they were written and how interesting they were in general.  They are weird, but I liked them.

9. Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer – OH MY GOD THIS WAS BEAUTIFUL.  It’s about a little boy whose father died in the twin towers on 9/11 and it was heartbreaking and hilarious all in one.  I loved everything about it and I can’t wait to read Foer’s debut novel Everything is Illuminated soon.  I read Tree of Codes and found it lacking a little, perhaps because it isn’t quite Foer’s words or perhaps because he didn’t have enough words to make it perfect.  Whatever the problem was I feel his novel was a much better example of his writing.

10. The Light by DJ MacHale – MacHale wrote my favorite children’s book series (The Pendragon Series) which I treasured more than Harry Potter (Don’t kill me, I loved Harry Potter, this series just got to me more).  This is the first book in his second trilogy that I didn’t even know was a think until a couple months ago.  I just finished this book last week and I enjoyed it.  One of my beloved characters made a cameo but because MacHale created a second story that takes place in the same town I have to wonder if both Pendragon and The Morpheous Road happen in the same universe.  It is slightly questionable.

1 thought on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten Books I’ve Read This Year, So Far.”

  1. Great list! I haven’t read most of these actually but a couple sound really good (The Monstrumologist and Everyday). I absolutely loved The Host (which is saying something considering my dislike for Twilight) and The Fault in Our Stars. I had tried, really, to read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close but I found the style so hard to get into. I know it’s an amazing book, so I have to try again one day.

Leave a Reply

