Books

Top Ten Tuesday – Tough Topics

Hosted by http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com/

Alright guys this is my first Top Ten Tuesday and boy is it a doosey.  This list will be my Top Ten books that cover tough topics.  Now while I spend most of my time reading romance I have read various books that have affected me for various reasons and here are my favorites:

1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – Alright who wouldn’t pick this book.  It tackles cancer and dying young, it tackles the breakdown of childhood idles.  I don’t usually cry when reading books but dammit the ending to this was perfect!

2. Everyday by David Levithan -” Michaela, this is a complete work of fiction about a body switcher how did it end up on this list?” I hear you asking.  For such a short book with such a weird premise it was able to tackle suicide, depression, love, leaving, obesity, bullying and much more because of all of the varying views that it gives.

3. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey – My favorite classic of all time and such a great way to view mental health in the past.  Historical fiction that deals with death and freedom all surrounding a quirky cast of characters who aren’t all right in the head.

4. Reunion by Jeff Bennington – This book follows a group of school mates who survived a shooting.  It was such a weird way to look at what the aftermath of such a traumatic event has on people twenty years later not just immediately.  It intrigued me after watching American Horror Story (can I get some Tate love [even if he is super crazy and homicidal]).  It was an interesting way to see how people dealt or didn’t deal with the death of friends and family.

5. The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver – This was one of my favorite reads for my AP Lit class in 2011.  It tackles moving out on your own and finding your place in the world.  Single motherdom and adoption.  It also tackles the topic of illegal immigration.  It is just a great story of finding oneself something that I worry about every day.  Also there might be a little bit of abuse both the child variety.

6. Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan – Now this is a middle grade throwback.  I read it in sixth grade but its been a while.  It talks about migrant workers in California and how a young child deals with losing everything and moving around with her parents.  It is an interesting perspective and introduced me to the topic when I was a child.  It’s a great story for young children or adults.

7.  Night by Elie Wiesel -Things you should probably know, I hate war books.  I hate them, I hate them, I hate them.  I hate reading about people dying and fighting because it is against my own beliefs but by golly was this book moving.  WWII in the concentration camps.  I hate it, but I loved it.

8. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher – Suicide, YA, a mystery.  This book was torturous.  I read it in one day because I don’t think I could have standed to read it for much longer than that.  The pain and everyday problems that led to this girls downfall was miserable. People say that she didn’t have “big enough” problems to commit suicide, I thought it was a brilliant rendition of how everyday problems stack up and weight on someone who struggles with depression.   THE ENDING! *screams*

9. Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman – This is a cute book about my favorite time period.  We go back to the mid 1960s to Savannah Georgia to follow a young girl as she moves in with her Aunt.  While she rallies around the women down south it follows her journey through accepting her mother’s certifiably craziness and ultimate death along with her father’s affairs and drinking problems.  Making friends and finding role models in a terrible time all while exploring a world I wish I could have witnessed.

10. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley – Now, while I hated this book while reading it because I couldn’t relate to the characters that was just the point.  This book tackles modern society, drug abuse, and government mind control in a very Orwellian way.  While I am not the biggest political allegory fan this book tackled the genre with an incredibly interesting premise and some scary repercussions.

Leave a Reply

