Musings

Finals

I am less than one week away from finishing my first semester of college.  So, I wanted to make a post talking about what my expectations for college were and whether they were met or not.

All summer long I had increasing anxiety about leaving my home, my family, and my friends for the first time going to a place that is five hours away and being on my own.  I was worried that I would be a recluse in my room focused on my work and doing nothing else.

My first day at school I ended up having eight other people in my room while we played a game of cards against humanity.  Little did I know but one of the people who I had never met before in that room would end up being my best friend here on campus.  It was a good way to start off my school year.

I would soon also have something like four or five different dungeons and dragons campaigns happening simultaneously switching in and out each week.  I had friends to play games with and friends to watch movies or tv shows with.  While I did make sure to pay attention to my assignments and my grades I also made sure to make time for other people and some other extracurricular activities.

I was able to win NaNoWriMo and work in the dinning hall.

My teachers were all lovely people who were helpful whenever I asked for help.  While the classes themselves did not seem harder than my high school classes I can only say that might be because for my last two years of high school I drowned myself in AP classes trying to prepare myself for college life.

There are fewer assignments in college however which meant that I had to pay extra attention to those assignments I did have.  You can’t miss an assignment or do poorly because your grade may never recover from it.

One of my classes, my biology which was meant for medical students or biology majors was much more challenging than I had anticipated.  The weird thing was, nothing they were saying in lecture or lab was new information.  I had already taken AP Bio and therefore had at least touched on all the things they were telling us and yet my grades still were suffering.  By suffering I mean they were lower than I wanted them to be but in no way terrible.

All of these things turned out to be not so scary and not so terrible.

I have gone into town on a number of occasions and have my own library card for the library in town.  I have walked to the hobby store, the music store, have frequented the comic and used book stores in the commons.  I even visited Cornell to listen to Sheamus Heaney read some of his poems out loud.

I feel rather accomplished, like I have been successful here and aside from not being terribly fond of my roommate, I haven’t been too upset nor felt too terribly.

I am excited to finish my finals and then venture home once more.

Christmas is coming and the goose is getting fat.

I suppose that I will keep working on my papers and projects that are due and try to memorize all the titles and authors to the poems I need to know for poetry.

For now, the pied piper is calling to me.

Leave a Reply

